It works!

April 15, 2010

Finally, I have a blog up!

I am about the hike the PCT!  I am leaving on Tuesday for San Diego.  I only found this out 5 days ago after I got a no from a potential job.  So instead of heading down under I am heading westward and southward to the California/Mexico border.  The past few days have been CRAZY!  I have found a storage unit, packed, started to move into the storage unit, made lists, made more lists, bought food, tested stoves, seam sealed the tent, finished babysitting twice, and am starting to wrap up tutoring.  Operating last minute is not my style.  I hate being pressed for time and feeling rushed and more than slightly unprepared for the adventure ahead.  I am still working out the details of my cooking stoves.  I have a only-understandable-to-me itinerary currently that will hopefully be translated to a better format to be understood by those who need to.  So a whirlwind to say the least…

Backing up…  The Pacific Crest Trail is a trail that runs from the border of California/Mexico to the Washington/Canada border, that is 2700 miles roughly.  This will take me until about September, so awhile.  While the distance is much shorter going straight from point A to point B, this way takes me though deserts, the Sierra, forests, old volcano terrain, the Cascades, and more.  Exciting!  So I am going to attempt it.

The first conception of this crazy attempt of an adventure happened in January of 2009, when I could start to see the end of my master’s degee and wondered what to do next.  I had heard of the Pacific Crest Trail before and the idea stuck me around then to do it after I finished school.  I started buying gear last fall and planning this winter.  Then I got side tracked for awhile by a potential neat job.  Now I’m back to the original plan and it feels like the right thing to do in my life now.

This wasn’t much of an epic post to begin my blog, but I have many things to get done.  I’m not sure how much I will update this, my mom might do some journal transcribing for me, but we’ll see.

Thanks for reading!

One Response to “It works!”

  1. liz t said

    Kerry,

    We are keeping up with you, but it looks like you don’t have a whole lot of time to write regularly. I guess that is a good thing. Means the hike is fun! Stay safe.
    Love,
    Liz and Brian

Leave a Reply

