CANADA! The END!

September 12, 2010

Well, we made it. On September 9 at about 7:15 pm we rolled up on Monument 78. It was after a 31 mile day through snow, sleet, rain, snow, and rainbows, so we were just kind of tired. I felt so relieved. I don’t think I’ve ever felt a bigger sense of relief ever. Crow Dog saw the monument first, we both saw the clear cut that the US chops at the border and I was excited, but more relieved. I hugged the monument, wondered where we were going to camp, took a few pictures, took a few more pictures, cooked dinner, and read the register and signed it.

Turns out… the monument was a terrible place to camp! Rampant with mice! For probably the third time on this trip I had a mouse run over my head. I shot up screaming, Crow Dog shot up yelling because I was screaming, what a fiasco! Coffee was made in the morning for the last eight miles in. It was a little sad that we were both pretty exhausted for the eight mile hike in the next morning, but it was only eight miles. And it finally didn’t rain down on us. It was a quiet last morning.

The last stretch into the border was quite lovely when it wasn’t raining. I still loved the state of Washington the most. The clouds provided some crazy dramatic landscapes. I wish we had seen a little bit more of the North Cascades, I could tell they were horribly beautiful from the little we saw through the clouds.

Glacier Peak wilderness was also spectacular. Most of the bridges were repaired and the blown down trees cut in half. The old growth was really eerie, but neat. The crossing of the Sciuattle River was exciting, on a wet, small, upward sloping tree with rushing glacial water below. Something my mind kept saying no to, but I made myself do it.

We also had an encounter with a ranger as Crow Dog was pooping 10 feet off the trail on a steep switchback. It was perhaps one of the most hilarious moments of the entire trail. The ranger said hi to him and then started talking at me. Once Crow Dog finished and came back on the trail he was being ridiculous behind the ranger, I busted out laughing, the ranger turned around, and reminded us of the ‘leave no trace’ policy. I laughed about that for the rest of the day.

Now I’m back in Bozeman. And there is SNOW in the mountains! What in tarnation?! The weather is very nice in the valley though. We had a good drive back through Canada. We went through Canadian wine and fruit country. I had this vision of picking apples in Washington and apparently you can just as easily do that in Canada, but I was too tired. Instead I just drank a raspberry milkshake and ate fruit.

What a trip though. I still haven’t really formulated too many thoughts on it. It was really epic. It was amazing, terrible, phenomenal, beautiful, scary, euphoric, hard, I guess the list could go on and on. It is incredibly bizarre to function around lots of people, to wear cotton clothes, to put on deodorant, to sleep in a bed, to change my clothes, to think about things I have to do besides eat, hike, sleep. Things definitely feel a little foreign right now. I’ll probably do a wrap up post soon and get pictures up hopefully soon, I’ll link to those when I get them up somewhere.

Thank you to everyone who helped, sent boxes, sent cards, gave words of encouragement, picked me up on the highway, housed me, lifted my spirits. It meant a lot and helped me keep on going. I couldn’t have done this without support.

4 Responses to “CANADA! The END!”

  1. Maureen said

    I am in total awe of you. Congratulations! I have so enjoyed following your adventures through your blogs and I can’t wait to see you in person and to see all your pictures.
    Love,
    Aunt Maureen

  2. Linda Hogan said

    Kerry,
    Congratulations on your completion of the PCT. You are a very brave young woman. You will have many stories to tell your children and grandchildren some day. Thank you for not leaving us hanging in the rain in Washington State. Every story needs an ending. Looking forward to seeing the pictures. Your blogs were great and picturesque. Thank you for sharing your adventure with us all. We look forward to meeting you in a couple of weeks. Get some rest.

  3. Conor said

    Unbelievable. So many congratulations to you!! I can’t even begin to imagine how you are feeling right now. I’m just kind of jealous. I’m excited to see you so we can share stories.

  4. Teresa said

    Kerry,
    Tears actually started streaming as I read your last blog. What an unbelievable accomplishment. Can’t wait to see you.
    Love,
    Aunt Teresa

Leave a Reply

